Examples of Squirrels In Animation

Below are few examples of previously designed squirrels in animation:

I absolutely love the design of the squirrel in this, both the face and body shape. The big eyes are very welcoming and instantly make you connect with the character. I would love to create something similar for our own animation.

I really like the design of the squirrel seen in this trailer also, although personally I find the facial features to be slightly more rat-like than squirrel, but then again that might just be more down to the teeth. I also, think that this particular character design is much more mature than the character of the squirrel that we have in mind, although it’s a very good basis to work from.

Though personally I am not too keen on the design of the squirrel in this one, I do I feel it fits the characters role in the story. However, disregarding the character designs, I more so like this animation for its environmental design. I think the use of colour and attention to detail in  his piece, is simply beautiful; particularly the opening establishing shot of the den, as well as the woodlands and the open grass plane.

I absolutely adore the design of the squirrel in this piece and in fact, think it’s pretty much the perfect design, bar some slight alteration when it comes to the face. It is a very traditional design and is made easily identifiable by its large bushy tail and large front teeth. Also, it’s face is very expressive, which is another goal we are hoping to achieve.

I really love the opening scene of this animation when we see the squirrel moving around in it’s natural habitat. I love the design of the trees, accompanied by the tall grass and I think it’s very similar to something that we would like to achieve. Also, although I like the design of the squirrel, I personally find it to be a little too characterised, mainly in regard to the shape its body. I do however like the way it has been rigged and textured.

This piece of animation is super impressive and stunningly beautiful. I think the character design is absolutely gorgeous and very realistic. Though it’s much more detailed than the look we are going for, it is certainly a good reference in regard to character animation. Also, the environment itself is very striking and compliments the character design very well.

This example here is simply unbelievable. The way in which the character has animated and composited into the scene makes it looks super realistic. Though we don’t intend to achieve this level of realism, it’s still a pretty impressive example of squirrel animation.

Leave a comment